Posted by: Andy | April 4, 2005

Random Update

Yeah so…life still sucks, but it is looking upwards lately at least. I’m in the running for an actual good job, should find out in the next few days hopefully. And, if that falls through, there is something less appealing on hold.

Anyway, if anyone is curious, here is my current stack of books to read:

1984, George Orwell
A Maze of Death and Eye in the Sky, by Philip Dick
A People’s History of the United States, by Howard Zinn
The Name of the Rose, by Umberto Eco
Lies My Teacher Told Me, by James W. Loewen

Ever since my friend Justin gave me this old paperback of Dick’s The Unteleported Man, I’ve been on a used-Dick-kick. I only by the crappy, torn looking 1960s & 1970s paperbacks. Seriously good sci-fi. Every book I’ve picked up so far has been somewhat mindfucking, in a good way.

And check out that Lies … book if you want a nice primer into the things you missed if you never took a college history class. I mean, as a current and “liberally” educated American, I was aware that the vast majority of the atrocities described in our textbooks as being done to early European-Americans were actually being done by the EAs to the Natives – but it is one thing to sort of know this in a passive way, and then to confront it in a factual way using primary sources.

I will admit that I was totally unaware that we wiped out the natives of Haiti. Completely. It is really important that our children don’t grow up learning all this bullshit about peace & god & thanksgiving. No wonder we are so fucking stupid as a culture.

Categories

