Posted by: Andy | August 24, 2006

back to politics

Shit, I KNOW too many blogs today right [Dude, who are you talking to, no one is reading?]? I thought it would look wierd all slammed into the same post so I figured what the heck, spread that butter out like fecies. Wait…no, that’s not quite right.

Anyway…..I found this over at Dvorak Uncensored (which I wish had a trackback link – isn’t this guy a tech columnist for a computer mag, or is that a different guy?). Long story short: some important figure in Australian gov’t made a comment on TV that Muslims who comment on following the laws…eh..I’ll just quote it:

But there are some clerics who have been quoted as saying they recognise two laws. They recognise Australian law and Sharia law. There’s only one law in Australia, it’s the Australian law. For those coming to Australia, I think we ought to be very clear about that. We expect them to recognise only one law and to observe it…if you can’t agree with parliamentary law, independent courts, democracy and would prefer Sharia law and have the opportunity to go to another country which practises it, perhaps then that’s a better option.

Definitely an interesting thing to hear a political figure say out loud…I’m not sure what I want to say about it right now as I’m kind of worn out, but maybe I’ll add something later. I still have one more entry to post!

Categories

