Posted by: Andy | August 24, 2006

The new Yeah Yeah Yeah’s disc

is really good, I like it much more than the previous one.

You totally thought I was done posting for the day didn’t you? Man…I’m just wordy today what can I say, must be those 2 drinks I had of Tab energy drink (I know it’s pink, but I’ll try almost anything once, and I’m not so insecure about my whatever that I can’t drink something out of a pink can that shares a manufacturer/owner/corporate logo with my mom’s favorite soda in the 80s!) left me wired.

Speaking of the Tab energy drink…those reviewers are kind of crazy with their statement that

All in all, there aren’t a lot of “energy” enhancing ingredients in this product.

The ONLY that really wakes me up in those energy drinks is taurine, and there’s taurine in there. Seriously, I did a bunch of tests on 10-20 different energy drinks in grad school (and when I was working 3 10 graveyards at a gas station a year or so before that) and the taurine is what gets me. Maybe it doesn’t get others, but judging by the success of Red Bull, etc. I sort of suspect it does.

Oh, yeah, back to the YYY’s. I don’t have anything amazingly musically technical to say about it other than I really dig it. Listened to it about 8 times in the last few days. The chick singing (Karen O?? Just totally guessing there…) seems to have expanded her vocal range into a few different styles, and the instrument portion has gotten denser, perhaps less raucus, and more varied. Awesomely precise, I know. It reminds me a little of the first TVoTR album, although that will probably get me some wierd looks. I couldn’t tell you why, but I feel a similiar “vibe”. More technicialspeak comin’atcha!

Anyway, check out the CD, I think it’s worth buying. Probably going to pick it up after work tomorrow. Unless its cheaper on the dreaded amaZo.

Categories

