Posted by: Andy | February 27, 2007

blood and snot

So I had surgery yesterday – only the second time in my life I have been fully sedated – to repair my septum & turbinates (I think that is what they are called).

Evidently, not only was the cartilage in my nose all messed up/crooked, but the turbinates (no, I don’t know what they are either) were too large. According to the doctor, whom I originally went to see about my snoring, this meant I couldn’t breath very well at all through my nose – possibly explaining why I have never had a good night’s sleep in my life! And also explaining the snoring. So, yeah, rather painless surgery out of the way…now the painfully obnoxious recovery.

I can’t breath out of my nose at all right now – it’s full of blood crust and gawd knows what else – and I have to (attempt to) sleep basically sitting up at night. So yeah, I didn’t sleep more than 20 minutes at a time last night, it was fucking horrible. In addition to not being able to fall asleep sitting up, even when I could I’d get woken up soon after because my mouth was insanely dry, my lips are like peeling off in pussy bubbles – that’s pretty nasty too.

As of right now, I’m getting a regular stream of snotty blood draining out into this gauze I’ve got held over my nose with this contraption that is rubbing my ears raw.

Fun stuff! But I should be able to breath normally within a month…and hopefully normally = better than I ever did before.

Categories

