Posted by: Andy | December 14, 2007

I had way too many cookies today

and I finally got a cover challenge over at Steven Grant’s Master of the Obvious column!  Now of course I wasn’t the first to get it, but it’s the first one I had any idea about, and my idea turned out to be the right one.   Here’s a description of the weekly challenge in his own words (note that he said this one was a hard one!  Hah, could be sarcasm though…):

For those who came in late, almost every week I run a Comics Cover Challenge: the covers of seven seemingly unrelated comics (thanks to The Grand Comic Book Database for the covers) from throughout comics history are spread, usually not in any particular order, down the column. But a secret theme – it could be a word, a design element, an artist… anything, really – binds them together, and the first one to e-mail me with the correct solution can promote the website of their choice, subject to my approval. (Not that it’s been an issue so far.) Some weeks are easier than others, but this ain’t one of those weeks even with the secret clue I’ve clearly hidden somewhere in this column (I decided to make it a little tougher this time since Bill Willingham was even boasting of being able to figure it out, and Bill has trouble doing the crossword puzzles in TV GUIDE) so if you don’t get it there’s no reason to get bellicose about it; there’s always next week. Good luck.

The answer for this week is “law”:

  • Matt Murdock from Daredevil is a lawyer
  • The Law Detective
  • Justice Traps the Guilty is about law enforcement
  • Same for Little Al of the FBI
  • The man on the cover of Real Western Hero is wearing a star indicating his status as a sheriff or something.
  • Judge Dredd is a judge of sorts
  • The cover of JLA indicates a charge and verdict

Oh, the cookies? Yeah, so one of our subs…a heating contractor I think (American Heating & Cooling maybe?), brings cookies by every Christmas.  The last two years they have remembered us trogs down in the basement, but this year sadly they forgot us.  But no matter, there were those who were not intrigued by the chocolate-chip-y goodness that drew me in at least 6 times.  Yeah, so I’m a glutton.  I’m probably going to have 2 or 3 more later.

Responses

  1. How about I subscribed via my wordpress profile and check it to see when you guys write new blogs and it never notified the two new ones? Lame. Oh and I want cookies.

  2. Don’t we all….
    Well, you’re halfway there at least.

  3. No worries, I am on track now and only have to click one page to check on you guys’ progress. Yeay!

  4. so congratulations on the challenge, thing, i have no idea what the heck you’re talking about, but you seem jazzed so that’s good enough for me.

    oh and thanks for eating all the cookies before I got near them, they’re from the devil you know.


Categories

