Posted by: Andy | January 1, 2008

2007 in CDs

OK, so here’s all the CDs I bought (and received as gifts) this year. Yes, there are 67 of them, yes I am a music whore. If it helps, I paid very rarely paid full price for them, most are used or amazon deals. Not all though, sometimes you just have to take it in the ass for $17.

This should give you an idea about what I think is worth buying… some of it was catch up for things I’ve heard but just never got around to buying (Interpol, Replacements, Shins, Sheila Divine, Joe Strummer), some were oddities to fill in my collection (Pixies singles, Lifter Puller, Fire Theft), some were genuine new finds for me (National, Summer Hymns, Favorite Sons, The Crush, The Long Blondes,), and the rest was probably new releases from bands I like.

Artist Album
Arcade Fire, The Neon Bible
Armstrong, Tim A Poet’s Life
Black, Frank Black Francis – Bluefinger
Black, Frank Christmass
Bloc Party Weekend in the City
Brothers Martin, The The Brothers Martin
Built to Spill Caustic Resin
Built to Spill Keep it Like a Secret
Built to Spill There’s Nothing Wrong with Love
Crush, The Here Is Wher I Cross My Fingers
Crush, The Tonight will Ruin Tomorrow
Dillinger Four Midwestern Songs of the Americas
Dillinger Four situationist comedy
Dillinger Four This Shit is Genius
Dillinger Four Versus God
Editors An End has a Start
Editors The Back Room
Face to Face Standards & Practices
Favourite Sons Down Beside Your Beauty
Fire Theft, The The Fire Theft
Havalina America
Havalina Space, Love & Bullfighting
Interpol Antics
Interpol Our Love to Admire
Interpol Turn on the Bright Lights
Kozelek, Mark Little Drummer Boy – Live
Lifter Puller Fiestas + Fiascos
Lifter Puller Half Dead & Dynamite
Long Blondes, The Someone to Drive you Home
Luxury Health & Sport
Me First & the Gimme Gimmes Love Their Country
Miss Argentina Yes I Am No You Can’t
Modest Mouse We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank
Morella’s Forest Tiny Lights of Heaven
National, The Alligator
National, The Boxer
National, The Cherry Tree EP
National, The Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers
National, The The National
Pixies Alec Eiffel [single]
Pixies Dig for Fire [single]
Pixies Here Comes Your Man [single]
Pixies Monkey Gone to Heaven [single]
Rae, Corinne Bailey Corinne Bailey Rae
Rentals, The The Last Little Life EP
Replacements, The Tim
Sheila Divine, The Secret Society EP
Sheila Divine, The The Sheila Divine EP
Shins, The Chutes Too Narrow
Shins, The Oh, Inverted World
Shins, The Wincing the Night Away
Son Volt The Search
Springsteen, Bruce Live in Dublin
Springsteen, Bruce Magic
Springsteen, Bruce We Shall Overcome – The Seeger Sessions
Strummer, Joe Global A Go-Go
Strummer, Joe Streetcore
Summer Hymns A Celebratory Arms Gesture
Summer Hymns Backward Masks
Summer Hymns Clemency
Summer Hymns Value Series Vol 1: Fool’s Gold [ep]
Summer Hymns Voice Brother and Sister
Tegan & Sara The Con
Tiger Army Music from Regions Beyond
Weakerthans, The Reunion Tour
Wilco Sky Blue Sky

Disappointments:

  • The Brothers Martin – I was really bummed about this one, possibly the worst album I bought this year. Of course, that’s not saying much, since I only buy good albums ;). Still, maybe I’ve just grown tired of Ronnie’s techno-synth stuff over the years, I don’t know, nothing on this album really hit for me, and there was at least one song that really annoys me (I think it was “The Deaf, They will Hear”).
  • Summer Hymns – Nothing stellar on these discs, but when I heard the frontman for Joe Christmas (one of my all time favorites) had another band, I had to pick them up. No biggie, I got all but one for like $2-5 on Amazon.
  • Wilco – Sky Blue Sky – Coming back a bit from the silly experimentalism that was the last album, this one is still too avant garde to be very interesting to me. It’s not bad, and more listenable/likeable than the last, but just not nearly as good as Yankee Hotel Foxtrot and everything before it.

Better than I expected:

  • Bloc Party – The first album, while good, is hit or miss for me listen-wise, but this one is great, it’s still in rotation.
  • The Crush – These guys are great! Too bad they are no more. Such is the way of things.
  • The National – Thanks to Andy (w) for turning me on to these days. I copied the Boxer from him, then went on to buy all their albums. Excellent driving, working, whatever music.
  • Springsteen – Magic – With all the hype around this one about its “retro-Springsteen” flavor, I kind of expected it to suck. I was very pleased to find that it didn’t.
Responses

  1. I was thinking of doing the same thing… But I think it would take far too much effort. Doing a “Best Albums of 2007” blog is so damn passe. How did you go about finding out which records you bought throughout the year?

  2. I not only know what I bought, but I know when I bought it, how much I paid, where I bought it, and whether it was new or used.

    I know these things sir, because I am insane.

    No, actually I just have a spreadsheet file I track all the CDs I buy and the above mentioned info………

    I do a similar, but more watered-down thing, for all my books. See here for that.

    I should add that these are only the physical albums I buy, there are a bunch of digital ones too.

  3. That’s what I like to hear. I have a spreadsheet for all the records I’m planning on buying- but I delete them off of there once I purchase them. I’m sure if I looked at all the cds I bought I would have no problem remembering when (circa) I got it and where- pretty much for every record I’ve ever bought.

    I too, Sir, am insane.

    Albeit lazy and insane.
    Though now I’m curious and I’ll have to sort through my library- unfortunately cutting into my Nintendo schedule, but a worthy sacrifice nonetheless.

  4. return the favor and bring down the rest of the National albums, I will be your best friend forever if you dooooo….and we’ll count that as my belated bday gift!!!!! do it! do it!


Categories

