Posted by: Andy | January 23, 2008

01/23/08 – Messiah Complications

X-Men 207

First off, let’s get that cover gallery out of the way! What cover gallery you ask? Why a recap of all 13 Messiah Complex covers of course! Yes, some (all?) had variants, but except for a few cases I couldn’t find all the variants within the time frame I’ve allotted myself, so one is good enough for now!

This space for rent.

OF COURSE THERE ARE SPOILERS

Soooo…from my forthcoming complaints it may sound like I disliked the series, or the finale, but that would be far from the truth. It was a fun ride, even if it didn’t make sense. I’m going to assume the reader has read this, since I’m not up for a giant recap. Check over at ComiX-Fan if you want that, they’ve been doing weekly recaps as an excuse for an article for the last 12, they should do one for the current issue soon.

Where are we left?

  • Professor X is crippled again, except worse – he’s got a hole in his brain! We know he’s not dead – the solicitations for X-Men Legacy at the end of the ish tell you this. So he’s just royally screwed again. How many times is this now? I think I’ve lost count. Pretty sure it’s at least three. He’s been shot/in a coma at least once before – that was enough to start off a whole crossover (EXecutioner’s Song, one of the last good ones) before, but now it’s just an endnote…or a new beginning! Du na na!
  • Bishop is bad. A lot of X-Men have found redemption over the years, like I’m sure Gambit is about to, but I don’t think there is any coming back from shooting Professor X in the head on accident. Mmm kay. This is really the worst/weakest part of the whole thing. Sure, they made it make sense with a modified version of his future – which I guess makes sense, the future he’s from (and hence his past) could have re-aligned itself to current events, while still allowing him to be born – that might bake sense in some crazy sci-fi logic. But still, it’s annoying. And seeing as how various folks (I think Tom Brevort may be one of them) have been re-iterating lately how much X-Men is about prejudice, I find it interesting that they have just reduced their minority population by what, 25%? But hey, who knows where this is going really. I was never that big on the whole guy-with-guns thing when Cable did it either. I liked the writers that had Bishop intelligently use his powers, but that wasn’t many.
  • I think Bishop is also short an arm now too.
  • Cyclops is a dick again, sort of. I’m guessing this badass-whatever characterization he’s currently running falls out of the Astonishing arc – which still has yet to finish. It does sort of make sense, following that at least. He’s also kind of stupid, because I don’t care how well trained against the X-Men the Marauders are – they are no match for 3 full teams, plus some kids. Instead he decides that the kids can get the job done? Sure, they did, but that was stupid. What about the random X-Factor members, and whoever else is hanging around. The future solicits look like he’s going into super-dick-overdrive. He’s got Wolvy’s team out killing people, THEN he enlists 3 of the x-babiekids to kill people??? MMMMM KAY.
  • Man, Storm did jack shit this crossover, she really should have just sat it out.
  • Actually, lots of people did jack shit. They probably should have just trimmed the teams down more before they started, so it wouldn’t look as haphazard and silly. So many people were AWOL…or maybe just background, when they would have probably had a bigger effect on things.
  • Cable took the baby to the future? OK…sure…whatever. Makes for an interesting new Cable series I guess.
  • Would MaliceSentinel really have monologued over Pixie or just snapped her neck? I vote #2.
  • Is Mystique dead too? Probably not, but that would be amusing. Rogue tried to kill her, I guess. Whatever, that made no sense either. The Mystique-Rogue arc did wrap up Claremont’s Destiny’s Diaries arc though…wow…when was the last time someone ELSE wrapped up one of his in a way that actually kind of made sense in the original context? OK. She’s not dead, she’s on the cover to next month’s Wolverine 62. Be nice to see that title in continuity again, at least for a little while. Not that I buy it anymore. Shelling out $$ for one Wolverine title (Origins) is enough.

OK, all that out of the way, the xover has done what it was intended to do I think – galvanize the audience and set-up the next set up to the new status-quo (post-Uncanny 500). Please, please, please do not restart the numbering after 500. That would be really annoying.

The battle scene felt like it actually needed a whole issue – this should have been a double sizer. Seriously, I’d pay money for an annual that just fleshed out this battle and made it more believable in the sense of how it would actually be with that many players on the field.

OK, so that’s done, what else was this week?

The Order 7

Yes, sadly this series is done on issue 10. 10!? They couldn’t even let it finish a year-arc? Lame! It’s incredibly well written, cohesive, and entertaining – and manages to be so while squarely in the middle of the post-CW Marvel U with a cast of 95% new characters. That’s crazy talk!

So yeah, another great issue here, not much action, but good dialog. I’m not sure the characterization here is square with Namor as of the end of his limited series (which is evidently where it is picking up), but that could just be because this is from an outside perspective, where the limited was clearly from his.

Pick the book up…hey maybe if numbers go up like crazy they won’t cancel it. Or they could do a volume 2 type thing who knows. This series would actually work quite well in a volume format (due to the year-long nature of their powers).

Young Avengers Presents #1: Patriot

I miss this series. It looks like this limited will be a nice stopgap though. I can’t quite square where in the world in falls in Cap continuity (maybe right between the last and next issue??), but it seems like it might squeak in. Not much to spoil here, just talking heads, but it’s a good read. Always nice to see the “other” Captain America mentioned too.

What else?

Stuff is picking up in Countdown. I guess it would be too much to ask for SuperTool & Monarch to kill each other, but I’ll request it anyway. I’m curious to see where the Red Robin bit goes.

She-Hulk 25 was pretty good, I just can’t get into the character. I feel horribly sad for that couple Peter David used for dramatic effect in this issue though.

Marvel Zombies 4 continues to march (or slog) onwards. I love Kirkman in general, but I’ve not been a big fan of this series at all so far. I mean, it’s well written and funny, but I just have LESS THAN ZERO desire to see Spider-Man kill his wife and aunt. And eat them. Really, who was asking for that? Foul. That being said, the ending of this issue brings up lots of interesting possibilities.

Categories

