Posted by: Andy | February 18, 2008

Marvel May X-title solicitations

Comicbookresources has some stuff up here. Click away!

I don’t get what’s up with the whole X-Men vs. Hippies thing, but I’m more than willing to give Brubaker the benefit of the doubt. Let it ride!

Mmm, two issue of Legacy by Mike Carey? He’s knocking them out of the park so far, so I’m excited about doubles.

X-Factor hasn’t had a bad issue yet, and this looks like it’s just ratcheting the stress up another notch.

What’s that? A bonus Peter David x-book this month? Quicksilver you say? Sold!! Very curious about where this is going.

Cable? No idea till I see the first issue at least.

X-Force – is it just me or do the covers all look sorta meh? It seems like the style is really restricted by “four clawed/knived people in all black” so we just get a shiny mess. Story-wise, the first issue was good, so I’m hoping for the best.

Young X-Men…So help me, if they make Dani (how did she get re-powered? Is it just a valkyrie thing? ) and Magma bad, and then tell the other x-kids to kill them…I will actually stop buying a title in anger. I’m not sure I’ve ever done that before (good thing I wasn’t a Spider-buyer though!), but man, would that be an idio-ta-fucking plot. Unless it’s the usual brainwashing etc. Personally, I think it’s just a red herring. So, whatever, let’s see where it goes. Not particularly excited about Guggenheim on an x-book though. I have no reason to be so – most of his credits look like TV stuff (?). We’ll see.

Genext: Isn’t this the same premise as X-Men:The End? Oh wait, there won’t be a death toll in this one – if this is Marvel in real time, then everyone is still alive (or in the process of resurrection) AND their kids are around. Should be cool.

Angel & Colossus origin limiteds – Why? I see no reason for these titles. Are we really missing out on important bits of their origins? I never thought so. Skip!

Wolverine limiteds, both First Class titles: Meh. Skip.

Wolverine: Do you think they will really kill Mystique? I don’t.

Origins: Think I’m going to cancel this one and just wait for the trades.

New Exiles: CC has been doing quite well so far (2 issues in at least), so I’m jazzed about this.

Divided We Stand – I look forward to seeing what the various “limbo” characters are up to. Do we really need a section on Dark Beast though? Do we care about him? Although I think I read an interview somewhere that stated his presence would be getting boosted in the coming year.

Responses

  1. I’ve read the x-men and most of it’s spin offs, on and off, for over 20 years. Agreed with the Peter David assessment. For me Wolverine remains an interesting character. Otherwise the rest look like dramatic rehashes of the same crap that keep the books colorful but really mediocre. Marvel worries more about focus groups than decent stories. I can’t wait till Queseda style crap is gone.

  2. Wolverine is interesting to me, but not interesting enough for the number of titles he’s appearing in.

  3. Mystique is supposed to be one of the oldest mutants in the Marvel Universe. There’s so much about her that people don’t know about. To kill her off is a grave mistake. Besides let’s get real here…she’s lived a long time…she’s a surviver she can’t probably lose to Wolverine. If she does it’s a totally $#%@ing SUCK!!!

  4. I doubt she’ll die.

    When was the last time Marvel killed a major X-character of substance and it stuck (not counting all the characters killed off panel in those crucifixions and the bombings…I don’t think that was anyone major anyway)? I think it was Synch…although who knows, maybe Sabretooth will stay dead.

  5. OK. I take it back. The “Get Mystique” story arc is actually pretty good. Not so much the old west stuff but the political implications of both characters actions in modern times

    My guess is Sabretooth will be back. He’s in the Wolvie movie and Marvel (and DC) are big about tieing their franchises together for maximum dollar potential.

    See Fantastic Four uniforms and a powered Pepper Potts in the new movie. Supposed to move into the comics as well.

    Good blog. Thanks

  6. I agree that it’s well written so far, I just think it’s another big fat tease and I strongly doubt they’ll kill Mystique as they keep hyping. It’s certainly a million times better than the arc where they actually killed Sabretooth.

    I have to agree with you on the Sabretooth thing. I’m guessing Sinister will finally figure out how to clone him (supposedly he was the one member Sinister was unable to clone).

    Wait – Pepper has powers in the movie?? Huh, didn’t notice that. I probably won’t be able to see it until video so I’m gnashing my teeth about that. 😛

    Thanks for the appreciation madmonq!

  7. Hi. Apparently I was wrong about the Pepper Potts powers. That’s what I get for believing a previously reliable source. Sorry!

  8. It’s all good! That would have been interesting though. Still haven’t seen movie…hopefully someday we can get a babysitter.


Categories

