Posted by: Andy | March 26, 2008

03/26/08 – not much last week

X-Men Legacy 209

I like this series.

And I like Mike Carey, so I like the series even more.

I’m not a big Prof. X fan, so that means Carey is doing a decent job.

I don’t know where it’s going – it must have an ending point right? Having the Prof just ramble through history forever would be kind of pointless, so I assume the goal is to get him to some point, then use that as the series’ reason for being type deal.

It’s been mentioned that the series would “look at the past from a different angle”, or something to that effect, but so far I don’t really see that. I just see flashback effects informing us of the reasons for people’s statements in the present. Which is actually a pretty decent device, and I can’t believe it’s not used for often. To use it as a focal point for a series is actually kind of interesting – I mean, I’m sure it would get annoying if it was used to this degree in a series with an actual plot trying to get somewhere – but using it as the plot is in itself kind of interesting.

Maybe that’s what the quote means?

Mighty Avengers 11

Spider-Woman does some Mighty un-spiderlike things. Then again, her powers have never really had anything to do with spiders have they? Flight and energy blasts?? Ooookkkkaaaay. Anyway, I suspect it’s a red herring because otherwise it’s way too obvious of a Skrull-clue.

Widow was my original guess for a Skrull, but there is some doubt cast on that here, but that could just be red herring doubt!

Anyway, Bendis said they had a pretty non-standard Doom ending here, and I think that is the case. He gets his ass handed to him and arrested. Wow, that hasn’t happened in a while (ever?). So, I guess the ending is non-standard at least. I have to wonder about the bit with Morgana though – was that just a throwaway, or will she be back in the future?

New Avengers 39

I put two images up because the one on the left is the one that has been in all the solicitations, and then the one on the right is the one that hit the stores.

I like the one on the right much better, so this is a good thing.

I think it was pointed out a week or two ago on LiTG that the left one is some kind of direct swipe, so I’m thinking that’s why it was swapped. (Edit: Ahh yes, here is the swipe from LiTG here). Anyway, random trivia. Onward!

Here we have an obvious Secret Invasion/Infiltration crossover in the way of being shown (for the first time) a Skrull attempting to replacing someone. Of course, it doesn’t go quite as well as the Skrull would have wished, but nor do our heroes kick ass.

Rumors floating around the naughty net are that Luke Cage is a Skrull, and we’ll soon have the 70s, funktified Cage back. Man, I hope not. I would think that Bendis has put too much work into him to just throw it away like that. But he has balls, so who knows. Someone in the team has to be a Skrull though, so it’s probably Cage…. Can’t be Hawkeye – he was just dead and we saw his resurrection. Can’t be Echo – she broke the whole Skrull thing open on accident and just had a replacement attempt. Can’t be Wolverine – that’s been done before and he just stopped the aforementioned replacement attempt. Can’t be Iron Fist – that would invalidate his entire new, badass series. Can’t be Doctor Strange – how would he know about that weird ass shit to do during WWH? (Although I suppose that one could be pulled off). Can’t be Spider-Man – because then the internet really would crack open. So, Cage it is then (?).

New Warriors 10

Man, people have no patience for anything anymore. No wonder Claremont can’t get a break anymore (although fingers crossed for Exiles) – that guy needs room to run!

Anyway, so I see a bunch of bitching about how this series is too slow paced. This amuses me. The thing about the pace here is that it is very, very obviously purposeful so I’m quite willing to wait and see where it goes.

The main problem I’m having with the series so far is I can’t remember who’s who out of the super-d gallery heroes. Heh. I need to wiki & memorize their asses.

Anyway, I’m still pleased with the way things are rolling out, and looking forward to how it unfolds. Although, is it just me, or was this the first issue “Control” was mentioned. It gave me Maxwell Smart flashbacks. If it’s not just a general reference, it was a pretty bad choice for a name, but we’ll see.

This issue in particular I have another semi-gripe about – wasn’t Jubes the one sticking up for Thrash thus far? Then all of a sudden she flips and is the one against him? I’m probably just remember wrong because I have the memory of a worm these days. I’ll re-read the series whenever it gets to where it’s going with this first meta-arc – I’m thinking around issue 13.

The Order 9

I left the image really big because I’m going to miss this series.

It looks like everyone may die here. Of course, comics look that way all the time – but there really is no future for these characters with their powers expired and their series canceled, so he might as well just kill them.

Not that that is the outcome I’m looking for, I’m just kind of sad that yet another -good- series is getting canceled while Wolverine has 3 solo books now and Iron Man is getting a second title.

Sure, that Iron Man title is being written by this series’ writer (Matt Fraction), and he has said he’ll pick up some of the plot points from this book – but all that really looks like it means is that this series serves as an intro to his new arch-nemesis, not that any of the cool new heroes will be around.

You’d think for a company that has come out with so little both new and good in the last several years they’d want to give these guys a chance…but hey I guess the series was never conceived of that way anyway (since the powers only last a year) . So whatever. *pours some cheap whiskey on the ground*

Categories

