Posted by: Andy | March 27, 2008

anti-emo violence in Mexico

OK.

This is just plain bizarre.   Dig around through some of the links (it will help if you speak Spanish…).

I can’t think of anything like this happening in my life/memory that wasn’t based on sexuality or race.  I know that particular groups have in the past attacked other groups (punks vs. skinheads, mostly punks vs. somebody), but I’ve never heard of multiple groups uniting against a music/clothing-based group, especially not on a scale like this.   WTF?

Sure, I make fun of the indie kids as much as the next guy, but I have no delusions about them being less valuable as humans than me.

The world is crazy.

Responses

  1. What the heck? I don’t get it? What’s to “hate”? Aside from this taking place in a country based on machismo… but still, who cares what some other kids wanna wear and listen to? I seriously don’t see what the big deal is about emo anyway, it’s just a natural albeit passive progression of other trends long in existence.

    People are weird.


Categories

