Posted by: Andy | June 10, 2008

weekly links

Talk about dreams coming true. I’m not a fan of Boston at all, but I can at least be really happy for this guy.

A British Band gets some use out of all those CCTV cameras everywhere…

All three candidates speeches on Obama’s successful nomination. It is worth listening to all 3 to get an idea of their comparative rhetorical skills. And then you can tell me if John McCain sounds like a cranky old man…

3d printer can “print” itself. Or copies of itself rather. Very cool.

Hmm. Evidently this is all the interwebitudeyoutuber rage. On the plus side, you can learn some words. And I have to at least point out people in the public eye claiming to be linguists…

Here’s another weirdass youtube thing. But at least this one has Jessica Alba in it. These youtube games trip me out. I’m actually really surprised at all the time people spend playing “video” games (hah!) with each other.

Forced to take poetry classes? I love seeing creative punishments like this. It gives me hope that there’s actually, well, hope, for the “redemption” part of our legal system.

An email Andrew Sullivan received points to another possible positive effect of an Obama presidency. That is, if you care how America is perceived by the rest of the world. Strangely, I do sort of care how others perceive us. In this sense I am patriotic and want people to realize that America is not the stupid country full of stupid people our president and recent actions on the world stage have made us look to be (we’re about evenly split..just enough to get Bush elected twice, but hopefully not a 3rd time (McBush!) 😉 ).

Physicists & levitation. Yay, I want levitating boots!

Here’s an uber-gamer’s uber setup. If you’re into that kind of thing…

Popping corn with cell phones? I’m thinking the videos are probably fake though…

Scientists think they have found some hints about the universe before the Big Bang. The article is really general, and I look forward to see what they come up with after this.

Remember how Bush said he gave up golf?  Well, he lied about that too.  Ouch.

Responses

  1. RE: Boston dude- following in the footsteps of Judas Priest (Tim “Ripper” Owens, from a Priest “Tribute Band,” what the movie “Rockstar” is based on), and more recently Journey (who found some dude from the Philippines via Youtube).
    I guess this sort of thing is quite common in the dino-rock world.

  2. Hey Andy! Thanks for pointing me out! I actually do have 2 degrees in philology… Teaching of Russian Language and World Literature Specializing in Philology and the Teaching of English Language Specializing in Philology.. and I guess I do have a somewhat “unique” way of getting people interested in etymology on YouTube. I’m always happy when other word-lovers find me though… so thanks again!

    So funny (or not!) that they “punished” those kids by forcing them to take a poetry class! What has education come to??? I wish they would “punish” more kids like that.. and maybe we’ll end up with some amazing modern poets that way! 🙂

    Marina

  3. andY, Are you the smartest person you know? You need more friends, You need help keeping your foot out of your mouth. As it seems you are a typical solipsist and a talking POP Star… with a large following. I am #3 to comment here is this a lot for you. and hotforwords get 30,000 views in 24 hour??

  4. @Brian: Wow, I did not realize this was a mini-phenomenon. Shows what I know. I really don’t keep up on that kind of music…but somehow I stumbled across this story. And I have to be happy for that guy because I can kind of imagine how that would feel.

    @Marina: Thanks for stopping in! I have to say you did more of interest with your Linguistics degree(s) than I did with mine. Then again, maybe if I worked out a lot I could put up a female-targeted version of your site. HMMM. OK, yeah I don’t think that would fly. I wouldn’t know how to use my sex appeal (lets just assume I have some) quite like you do. Plus I don’t have an interesting accent.

    @gregory hall: OK, what the hell is your deal man? You mention that I “put my foot in my mouth” but make no effort to even substantiate this claim? Then you attempt to insult me with some strange non-sequiturs. You sir, smell of troll.

    I really shouldn’t feed you, but I’ll say a bit. I’m not out here for hits or to rack of a million people. Life (and this by extension) isn’t a competition for me – this is just a place where I communicate things I find interesting with people (most of whom already know me in real life). I get very few random comments. And I’m ok with that :).

  5. I vote for Marina, I like her show.


Categories

