Posted by: Andy | September 5, 2008

memo to McCain: you’re a war hero, we GET IT, now please shut up about it

[NOTE: This is from a week or two ago, I just forgot to post it.]

Seriously, how is this an answer to a question:

LENO: Welcome back, Sen. McCain, for one million dollars, how many houses do you have?

MCCAIN: You know, could I just mention to you, Jay, and a moment of seriousness. I spent five and a half years in a prison cell, without—I didn’t have a house, I didn’t have a kitchen table, I didn’t have a table, I didn’t have a chair. And I spent those five and a half years, because—not because I wanted to get a house when I got out.

I mean, I know he has to be political about everything, but wtf?   He continues on (in basically the exact same answer he gave that lady that just interviewed him…Katie Couric maybe?  I don’t know tv news personalities well) with some BS about how thankful he is for his father in law’s money.  It’s fun to live off others’ wealth isn’t it?

[UPDATE: Further thoughts since I wrote the above]

The RNC speeches hammered this point down so hard I was afraid that the other former PoWs in the audience were going to start having flashback seizures or something.

I fully accept and respect the years of life given to our country by our soldiers, but I don’t think it’s a qualification for presidency.  Sure, if you had experience as a high ranking military officer, THAT I could see as being relevant but this is just…fluff.  It’s a great way of showing what a great American he is.  Which is nice and all, but again, not a qualification for the presidency.

It also seems like a big fat pity party to some degree: “John suffered all this so YOU could live your happy life, don’t you think you owe it to him to make him president?”

Sorry John, you already got your 7(?) houses.  Frankly, I think that’s pretty good – certainly more than most of us, and more than most other PoWs, will ever get.

Also, as mentioned in my post about Fred’s speech, I’m curious about what it really means to be a “war hero”.

Responses

  1. You, sir…. are unAmerican. OR Un Americain. Which is how you would say one American in Franchaise.


Categories

