Posted by: Andy | September 14, 2008

Maui: day 3 & 4 – now with added pictures

Last night I passed out on accident and woke up at midnight…too late for a blog.

Trying to remember what we did yesterday…everything is so hazy.  I believe that we got up in the morning & went swimming – J & Z in the pool and I went snorkeling a bit in the bay/cove just outside our hotel. Giant sea turtles.  Many.  As in, I could have touched one about as big as myself (but certainly heavier) – but it’s a good thing I didn’t because evidently there is a $25,000 fine just for touching them.  Wow.  Anyway…wow its trippy to be that close to something that large and have it be totally oblivious to you.

Then…uh…after that…I don’t remember.  At some point we stopped by the local Barnes & Noble & Jen grabbed some books.  Then a stop to the local Radio Shack, which had a large van outside with 13 (the driver’s info, not mine!) “drunk” temporary workers (I’m guessing temporary because they had been to Hawaii for work before, and wouldn’t be here permanently this time either) ALL of them (or several at least) waiting for cell phones.  Each phone taking like 10-20 mins to set up.  So…yeah, I gave up eventually and left.  Unfortunately the other worker – a thin fellow with one short arm (possibly missing an elbow and entire joint) with all the nails on it grown out very long wasn’t able to help me either because he was stuck on a phone talking to tech support for someone else’s cell phone.  Yeah…so it’s bullshit that everywhere sells cell phone crap now.  Luckily, I remembered that there was an OfficeMax back by B&N, so we went back and I got what I needed for half the price.

We went swimming at the beach after that, and Z got a little more time in the water than he had the time before.  Then uh…Jen made some Costco meat & potatoes that was very good.

Today…today we relaxed a bit, made some sandwiches and then went to the local aquarium.  They had some neat stuff there – sea turtles (much smaller than the local wild ones) & hammerheads that you could see from up pretty close, among other things.  Then eventually we wound up eating at a 50s themed diner type thing in Lahaina.  It was ok.

And, now, imagery, click for larger versions.:

View from our deck
View from our deck
Jen at Sunset
Jen at Sunset

it's the grapes

Jen & the giant tree

Jen & the giant tree

Dad & Z, and hats

Dad & Z, and hats

One size fits all.

One size fits all.

Mother and son at the beach

Mother and son at the beach

landings

landings

aquarium, in blue

aquarium, in blue

That all being said, vacationing with a toddler is hard work.  I’m not sure if “vacation” is quite the right word.  I wonder if he’ll remember any of it?  At least we’ve got pictures!

Responses

  1. Finally!! Pictures!!


Categories

