Posted by: Andy | October 8, 2008

2 pictures from my phone

The first:

I saw this dude (who had rather creepy posture) while I was waiting for the bus the other day.  I didn’t get a chance to see his sign – I really wish I had.  I wonder if it says something like “Need $$: lost/stolen bike!”  Oh, and don’t forget the “God bless!” at the end!

So yeah…why was he hiding his bike??

My other image is a response of sorts to Josh’s post:

Maybe just in the sense of “it’s everywhere!” or something.  So yeah, I pass this house whenever I walk to/from the bus and always wondered what the hell was up with it.  At one point the Confederate flag came down for a while and was replaced by a pirate flag, but it eventually went back up.

Also, you can’t see it very well, but there is some kind of design (some kind of blue square or orb or something) in the center of the flag – does anyone know what that means?

Responses

  1. I’m insanely amused by the first picture and insanely nonplussed about the second. I think it’s kind of an overstatement of significance to even say anything, which is why we probably all pass such things without the fervor to go “educate” their owners. I don’t even know if I believe that they give it any thought. It’s like this country has the “can” thing down but kinda forgets about the “should” part… like because it’s allowed, it can’t be wrong.

  2. It sounds like you are insane in general today. Is that a good thing?

    It boggles my mind that this happens in _PORTLAND_ of all places..I mean…that’s almost like it happening in San Francisco or Santa Cruz or something. Which is why I wonder if the symbol in the middle means something, maybe its some kind of secret “anti-confederate” thing. Ok, I’m just making that up. Too much boggling does that.

  3. ***It boggles my mind that this happens in _PORTLAND_ of all places..I mean…that’s almost like it happening in San Francisco or Santa Cruz or something.***

    Sounds like you moved to Portland recently?
    You should read the book 100 little hitlers… Portland, and more so Oregon has an extensive history of organized racism. A couple years ago a bunch of neonazis came up to olympia to hold rallies, where did they come from? PORTLAND.

    ps. If you do happen to read 100 little hitlers you’ll also find out that many of the tactics that became the framework for the american neonazi movement were actually developed in and around SANTA CRUZ…

  4. @bill: We’ve been here about 4 years now. I have occasionally seen blips about neo nazi rallies down south somewhere, but haven’t seen anything in particular about Portland yet.

    I’m not, I mean I guess I’m not amazingly shocked in general, because it is most places…it just seems like that kind of people would be less likely to announce themselves in “liberal safehavens” or whatever the labelers like to call Portland, SF, SC, etc.

  5. I wasn’t going to say how unsurprised I’d be to see such things here in Santa Cruz. I firmly believe that “liberal safehavens” are where extremists thrive. Because … yeah. Seems obvious to me. People rebelling to the point of extreme, especially when they didn’t have a point or conviction in the first place. Which is why we love the campus and the nature. And less the rest.

  6. sick and sicker.


Categories

