Posted by: Andy | January 7, 2009

links for the new year

OK, so must of them have nothing to do with the new year.

Diesel Sweeties muses on a topic I’ve often pondered.  Not the funniest thing in the world, but I don’t see it mentioned very often, so hey!

Nothing like a good old “legal to pee” prank.  I find this almost as amusing as Bill Maher’s street preacher version of Scientology.  Does that not seem like something I would have done years ago?  I wish I could have found a longer clip.

Want to watch a Starcraft 2 Terran vs. Protoss match?  Thanks Blizzard you big teases – now get the damn game out! 🙂

Confessions of a 30 year old gamer.  An old article by Ta-Nehisi Coates that I found linked from his blog (which almost always has something of interest)….speak of the devil!  He’s got an article up on Michelle Obama, with some follow-up discussion on the blog here.

A piece on how different kinds of animal intelligence evolved separately.

Why is texting so expensive?  Because it costs the carriers next to nothing to provide the service!  What?  Huh?  Exactly.  For the same reason that your texts will get out if the cell network is overloaded (remember that bridge collapse last (?) year – text messages got in and out but cell phone calls couldn’t).
You know that Gaffigan bit about the donut-ham-ham-sandwich (sorry, no can find link)?  This is not far off.   *barfs in mouth*

A nice slide show type tribute to Joe Strummer.  Done to Silver and Gold – a beautiful – and perhaps phophetic – song.  One of the few (but now growing!) list of dead people I wish I could have met or at least seen in concert.

A Diablo 3 prievew from 1up.com.  MORE!  I need more info now dammit…still 2 classes unrevealed!  *fiends*

A piece on the differences in media coverage of the Israel-Gaza situation between the US & the rest of the world.

An amusing comic about those Twilight books.  Good, wholesome fun for the whole family – Mormon or not!  Setting good role models for our young women, etc.  At the very least, the woman needs to be flogged for the stupidest addition to the American vampire mythology yet – sparkling in the sun!

Responses

  1. Why do I see NOTHING on here of the upcoming Sims 3 release?!?

  2. *still shaking head* People depend on your news coverage for thoroughosity. Ness. Andy.

  3. They better. I’m all the news that’s fit for me to print.

    Hmm, Sims 3 exactly 1 month after inauguration – what are they trying to say????!??! Betelgeuse Betelgeuse Betelgeuse!

  4. I KNEW YOU’D FIND OUT THE RELEASE DATE FOR ME. Now I can sit here lazily waiting. *sigh*


Categories

