Posted by: Andy | January 18, 2009

I won my first 8-4 AAA draft today!

Anyway…I rarely play 8-4s because they are full of the good people (most players have 1750+ ratings  – mine was about 1485 today – you start at 1600, so that means I lose.  A LOT.).  Mainly I do 8-4s when I want to try and raredraft: the people there are so much more set on winning that they will often pass much better cards just because it doesn’t fit their deck.  I got a Tezzeret 3rd pick once – crazy!

So yeah.  I was just going to do some of that – grabbing decent cards then intending to take a massive loss.  Instead I grabbed 2 rares that I wanted (Canonist & Master of Etherium) – that I didn’t even use in my deck – and then proceeded to built a Bant deck that SMASHED through the first two rounds.  Seriously, I was done with each match in 10-15 minutes I think.  Both rounds I finished my opponents before the others finished their first rounds.  It was pretty crazy.

And then, to top  it all off,  I won the final round – heck I’ve only won 4-3-2-2s …twice maybe?  Once?  It’s rare.  So yay for 8 packs of (virtual) cards.

If you’re reeeeallllly curious, here’s the deck I had:

1 Rockcaster Platoon
2 Akrasan Squire
1 Kathari Screecher
1 Elvish Visionary
2 Waveskimmer Aven
1 Dispeller’s Capsule
2 Jhessian Infiltrator
1 Fatestitcher
1 Welkin Guide
1 Call to Heel
2 Sighted-Caste Sorcerer
2 Rhox War Monk
1 Sigil Blessing
1 Sanctum Gargoyle
1 Excommunicate
1 Oblivion Ring
1 Hindering Light
1 Obelisk of Bant
1 Arcane Sanctum
6 Plains
5 Island
5 Forest

Sideboard not relevant because I never needed it.  Every card in the deck saw good play except screecher & capsule.

I know – Rockcaster right?  I actually played him for a win one round too.  Infiltrators are really obnoxious in draft – I’ll often take them just so I don’t have to play against them – at least if I’m not playing much removal.   I also really like Waveskimmers in draft.  Rhox is reliable as always.  All the 2ofs really helped my deck to play reliably (duh).

I lucked out in that I never had to play against much creature destruction.  It seems like that would have been problematic.  The first deck I played against was Jund with some removal though and I did alright.  Thankfully my opponents eliminated whoever had the Executioner’s Capsules & Bone Splinters – or they just didn’t see much play.

Weee if you know what all that gibberish means, you must have a seat near mine on the geek bus.


Responses

  1. *nervous titter*

    • Congratulations – that was comment #1000! You win nothing.

  2. at first, i thought, what the hell is he talking about? Could it be magic? No that doesn’t sound like, wait, oh I think that part does…ok. yes. it’s magic.

    And I’m not on the bus permanently, I just accidentally get on it sometimes when I’m on my way somewhere else.

  3. Yeah, I thought it was some sports thing at first. Fantasy baseball, perhaps? That’s a thing, right?

  4. If no one’s thought of Fantasy Little League yet… I’m going to be no richer than I am now.

  5. @Brian: Sports, in any form: no.
    @Beth: Sounds like a molester magnet to me!

  6. O_O
    Um… how….exactly?
    I kinda figured it would be much like Fantasy games of major league sports. Mostly your team advances based on the stats of the individual players you drafted. … Plus, I’m sure those killer hockey dads have already started doing it.


Categories